Saturday, November 10, 2012

It Has Only Been a Million Years...

     Sorry there has been such a gap in posts.  I have just been so busy! Who would have ever thought that *sarcastic eye roll*.  I finished my three week take-over that is required of me from the University.  It was the mix of ups and downs I thought it would be.  It's overwhelming and frustrating being a student teacher.  I don't really know how to explain it.  You're trying so hard to find out who you are going to be as a teacher while still trying to maintain a classroom environment someone else has set up.  The whole thing is a bit frustrating.  I cannot wait to have my own classroom, to make my own decisions, and to be able to implement classroom management as I see fit.  Well, that's enough complaining.  Overall I thought my takeover went REALLY well.  The students really enjoyed me teaching and have even requested I keep going or that I get a job at the school.  This makes me feel a bit cocky.  I was also observed by the administration and in the best news of all I GOT OFFERED A FULL TIME TEACHING JOB!!! AYAYAYAYAY! But, my joy ends there... unfortunately the university will not let me go until the end of the semester. They won't budge not one bit. This is seriously the most frustrating thing I have EVER been involved in.  The prospect of finally making money is right there and because the school is on this whole, fair is fair, kick the school had to find someone else to fill the position.  Again, another rant over.  Anyway, at least the prospect of getting a job offer has made me confident of my skills as a teacher.  Anyway, graduation in soon and I'm looking forward to walking. Hopefully this won't be the last post but just the first of many, many more!

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

It Has Begun!

     Sorry it's been so long... not like anyone is reading this but hey, sometime in the future someone may stumble upon this and be all, "whaaaaaat?!?! Why was there such a break between those two posts!?!? It was just getting good, man."  So the first week went without a hitch.  It was kind of boring just sitting there and doing a lot of nothing but I got to interact with the students a bit and also learn about about the beginning of the school year procedures. 
     The first day is really just making sure the right kids are in your class and seeing if students may have moved to a different district or state.  While we were doing that we had the kids fill out note cards with their names and some interesting facts (fave music, color, food, etc.).  My teacher uses these for disciplinary action so when she has a problem with a student she can write it on the back of the card and date it.  I thought this was a really cool simple way to keep track of that without all the mess. 
     The second day was really fun.  We made-up name game called 'snowball' (I found out later that this is a Kagan strategy, so go us). We had the students write two interesting facts about themselves on a half-sheet of paper (save all the trees!) and then crumple this into a 'snowball'.  We then had the students toss, and of course we explained how to toss and not shot-put the paper balls, around the room.  After about 5 or 6 minutes we had them toss the balls to the front of the room. We asked the students in the front rows to collect enough 'snowballs' for their row and pass them back.  Each student then opened their 'snowball' and took turns reading the facts that were written on them.  If their facts were on the 'snowball' they had to stand and introduce themselves.  This was such a better game than that memorization one where the teacher always ends up having to say every kids name at the end and the students really seemed to enjoy their 'snowball fight'.
     Other than that that things have been going pretty well.  We did discover we have one kid that does not speak English at all but we are working with him to try and help him learn the vocabulary he will need to succeed at school.  He is the sweetest boy on Earth and you can tell he feels ashamed he doesn't know English.  He even pretends to do his work and just fills up papers with scribbles.  It breaks my little heart :(  Hopefully he will continue to work with him and we can help him succeed!
     We've also decided when and what I'll be teaching so that's super exciting and I can't wait to delve into all that.  Learning a lot about the daily routine and all the changes in technology that we're going through. Easy Grade Pro online?!?! You mean I can enter grades from home?!?! AHHH exciting stuff for us lol.   Other than that there hasn't really been any problem with students but I'm sure their time to test me will come.

Sunday, August 26, 2012

Short & Sweet

     This wont be long.  I finished my first week-ish of school and it was amazing!  The students weren't yet in class but it was so enjoyable to learn the down and dirty of what teachers do before the students get there.  I think student teaching is really going to be an eye opening experience.  This may be the only thing that actually teaches me about what a teacher goes through.  My other experiences through P1 and P2 were just not as inclusive.  I was only there twice a week and I barely taught. 
    I'm excited to be there on a full time basis but man this not getting paid part BLOWS.  I like to jokingly say we're on the Top Ramen budget. Monday is the first day with students and I am so excited! It's a lot of just paperwork and setting rules and all that jazz but it should be fun.  I finally have my own desk which will be nice.  I've got some things to decorate it and show off my personality as well as organizational tools.  My mentor teacher definitely has the organizational bug and I really hope to pick up that habit from her.
   I'm sure I will have a lot more to say after tomorrow.  Can't wait to see all my new little students! 

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

One Down, Eighty More to Go!

     That was basically me this morning.  I was so nervous to go to school.  I don't know why.  It wasn't like the students were there but it was an opportunity for me to be introduced to the entire staff and meet up with my mentor teacher. 
     Funny story though! So in the typical fashion of my college/department, when I went to meet with my teacher the reaction I got was well... lets just say it was not a pleasant greeting.  The site supervisor took me over to meet her and as soon as she mentioned that the teacher would have a student teacher she looked at us, aghast, and said "what are you talking about.  I don't have a student teacher.  I've never had a student teacher.  No one told me any such thing."  Talk about a warm welcome.  Well the site facilitator walked off and I tried my best to create small talk and to reassure my "mentor" (I use that word loosely with her) teacher that I won't be a hindrance to her.  She wasn't really having any of it, stuck in her ancient ways. Thankfully there is a FANTASTIC lead mentor teacher there who, as soon as she caught wind of the snafu, came to my aid.  I was immediately transfered to a different mentor teacher.
     My new mentor teacher seems really nice and a real go getter but I'm a bit hesitant about how things will go.  I don't say this because we don't get along or anything like that.  Rather, it's the fact that I had classes with this girl! She's only been teaching for two years now and THAT makes me nervous.  I don't know if in my second year of teaching you could consider me a star candidate to become a mentor.  I'm sure it will be a learning experience for the both of us but man I think it is going to be a challenge. 
     Today consisted mostly of faculty meetings where we learned of new policies, how many students will be enrolled, and the basics of the day to day.  Tomorrow we're going in to help our teachers set up their rooms and hopefully get to talk to them more. We are also set to go to the department meetings which should be enlightening. I'm excited for the first day with my new students!


P.S. I GOT 10th GRADERS!!! Too excited! I've never had students this young.
    

Sunday, August 19, 2012

The Countdown Has Begun

     It is officially three days until I start student teaching.  I FINALLY found out which teacher I am assigned to and it is the one I was expecting.  I wish I could have kept my teacher from last semester but unfortunately that wasn't in the cards.  It's o.k. though because it will give me a new chance to learn another style and to gain more resources. 
    Overall my feelings are overwhelmed! I can't believe in just four short months I will be done with school and on my way to a career.  It feels weird because I have never been anything besides a student and making that transition into teacher feels strange.  They all say this is the hardest part, making that change.  I guess we will see how I cope with it.  I am so thankful to have my buddy around to support me and keep me sane. 
     I got all of my school stuff together yesterday.  I got one of those accordion folders and have organized all of my old lesson plans/handouts/articles by topic and it makes me feel like a professional.  I think if I can keep this organizational skill in check it will benefit me greatly in the long run.  As I was going through my supplies I was almost shocked at the amount of materials I have.  It has really shown me that I can do this work and that I have the skills to succeed.  Also, it must be a teacher thing because I have a million pens. All colors, sizes, shapes, sharpies to ballpoints, but no pencils... go figure?
     I might have to invest in a really cool pencil (or in my case pen) case (OMG HOW NERDY).  I love online shopping.  There are so many cool things you would never find in your local Wallmart.  While browsing the interwebs I've gotten a little distracted by wedding dresses.  Random I'm sure but the girl in me just can't resist looking at beautiful dresses.  Watching "Say Yes to the Dress" isn't exactly helping either lol.  *Sigh* I suppose it's me trying to put off the inevitable of school starting, distracting myself with other things.  Don't let buddy find out haha. This will probably be the last post before school starts and I'm sure the one after that will be interesting.

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

The Beginning is Near

     First, good news! I PASSED PRAXIS II!!! Not to brag or anything but not only did I pass it but I also kicked its ass! Now that it's out of the way I just have to focus on my final semester of college and completing student teaching while keeping my sanity.  Our first day of student teaching starts on August 22nd and I am so nervous.  I don't know who my mentor teacher will be and after some of the horror stories I've heard about the staff at the school I'm assigned to I'm shaking in my boots.
     I'm trying not to let my anxiety get the best of me and am working towards getting everything prepared for school.  Shopping for new supplies and clothes is always exciting but this semester I definitly have a budget to keep in mind.  I don't know how other people do it.  Student teaching is basically a full time job, plus some if you're really dedicated, and finding another job that fits into the schedule has been tough.  I'll basically only be working weekends now so that has put this household on a very tight budget.  I found this the other day. It made me laugh.  I thought I would keep it here and hopefully it provides a laugh to someone else in the future...


You might be an education major if...

*You’ve been called a grammar Nazi.
*The Praxis stresses you out more than your GPA.
*Write a 25 page paper on different learning styles & how to address them-takes 2 hours tops. Write any kind of paper remotely related to calculus, chemistry or biology-takes 2 months & can we triple space this?
*Jealous of your friends because they get to wea
r jeans to class, you have practicums.
*90 % of your finals are papers.
*You’re the worst student you know.
*Friends complain about an 8am class, you have to be at your practicum that’s a 15 minute drive by 7am.
*“I love working with children” statement proves false by the ONE student they always manage to place you with.
*You’ve ever said, “Why do I need to learn this if I’m not even going to teach it?” (calculus)
*Everyone thinks your degree is the catch all degree, the fall back, the easy way out. Clearly they’ve never had to read 100 books for one class, in one semester.
*No practicums? No real clothes.
*You can hate 8278923895798238098 different kids, but all it takes is one kids encouraging statement to make you want to stay in the program.
*All of your classes are night classes.
*You have an excellently trained bladder.
*“I want to be a teacher because you’re pretty much guaranteed a job.” - You can leave now.
*All of the different versions of the praxis you had to take and pay for is probably going to be higher than your first pay check.
*“I like the idea of having the summer off”-you may also go now.

If you can think of anything else to add to this please do!

Monday, August 6, 2012

I Know It's Been A While...

     There has just been so much to do and so little time! I'm trying to fill my days with fun and relaxation before the crazy of student teaching happens.  This last week was my 24th birthday and it was a blast! I've been hanging out with friends and having fun non-stop.  If you want the details, I'll let you know but you've got to request it.  I don't want this to be filled with trivial life things but actual life events that could be found useful not only to myself but also to other new teachers. 
     Other than that, I have been preparing for the upcoming semester.  I've been reading Gulliver's Travels to prepare myself to teach my little sophomores.  I have never taught a class this young and I'm excited to see a younger crowed.  As much as I love the seniors I can't wait to escape their unbridled disgust with school in general.  I'm hoping a younger crowed, although they will probably not love school, might be a little less jaded.  I've been collecting tools and information that I think I can use with my students to involve them in learning. 
     My new favorite thing is failblog.org - They have a portion of their site dedicated to 'school fails' and I find humorous pictures and quotes that can be used as the hook for students.  I think using modern technology is important especially with students who are not all that interested in English. 
     I'm getting together all of the requirements for my subbing license.  I know it sounds stupid considering this is my last semester of school but it will come in handy if my teacher needs a day off I can take over the class and it will make her feel more comfortable leaving me alone in the classroom. At least from a legal standpoint.  I also think it is a smart move just in case I don't get a job right away.  I can start subbing around the district and spread my name among the schools. 
     There isn't much else to update you on in the way of school related activities.  I start teaching on the 22nd and I'm sure there will be much to write after that.

Friday, July 6, 2012

Not Much Happening...

     Well, I've had an interesting week.  First off I signed up for Praxis II and holly bejesuz is it expensive!!! I got a study guide book thing and it should help.  I'm not too worried about passing.  The questions seem easy but it's still scary.  We went camping a few days ago and I got SO sunburned.  It's doing better now but I hate the peeling.  I also managed to slice my finger open which wasn't fun and has made work/the everyday life hard.  I'm still trying to relax during the summer before the crazyness of school starts up.  The teacher in me is finding it hard though and I've found myself already planning, reading, and creating lesson plans.  I want to fit in a few more camping trips this summer.  They really relax me and it is so nice to get out of the heat.  I'm thinking about getting all of the student teachers together to have one big trip before school.  A lot of them seem interested and it would be so fun.  Today is my last day of my summer class and I am so excited.  Having this class in the middle of the day for the past 5 weeks has been a major pain.  I can't wait to finally start summer! Pool and tan here I come!!!!

Friday, June 29, 2012

First Post...

     So, I've been reading a lot of blogs around the internet lately.  Especially educational ones where teachers share their insights and inspirations but I'm finding it harder and harder to find the view of a new teacher; especially a new teacher entering into Secondary Ed. This post will be my outlet, not only for my school/professional life but also an insight into the difficulties of being a poor college student. 
     Perhaps I should tell you a little about myself.  I am studying Secondary Education at UNLV and my teaching field is English Literature.  I live in what some would call "the ghetto." Fortunately, I live right next door to a police station so besides the occasional "woop woop" from the police cars as they exit the garage, it's a pretty quiet place.  Now this isn't to say there isn't the occasional domestic dispute, shooting, homeless man digging through the dumpster, addicts begging for money, and transvestite prostitutes walking by.  Luckly, I live with my boyfriend.  He is also in Secondary Ed. It's nice because when we talk about "work" related things he doesn't stare blankly at my word choices of Lemov or differentiated instruction.  *ALERT SUPER MUSHY MOMENT* I don't know how I would get through this process without him, he is my rock.  I promise not to include too much of that but I will be sure to include a warning ha!
     I work a regular minimum wage job because this major is so demanding that if you don't work somewhere that has a bit of flexibility you might die of exhaustion when trying to fit in lesson planing, studying for Praxis, grading papers your mentor teacher didn't want to grade, and trying to keep sane by maintaining a social life. This relates to what I said earlier about living in the ghetto.  Another warning *COMPLAINING WHINING BITCH WARING* I pay for school, rent, insurance, groceries, the wine to relax my frayed nerves that ONE student causes (or the Praxis), electric, gas, and anything else that I need.  While I do get some help from some grants, it doesn't cover everything. *End of rant* So because I don't live at home I live in the ghetto.  I feel like this life experience will be positive in my future though, I can tell my students or my children "well you think you have it hard, I once lived in a studio apartment with your father (who is so gassy OMG) in the middle of the ghetto and we still did our homework."
     Here's to a new friendship.  I hope to make you laugh, think, and through this venue I hope to vent out my concerns and fears.