Thursday, December 4, 2014

Minimum F

     So, apparently this is a thing. My principal wants us to use this policy on all students. It's pretty much a policy that tells me, no matter what a student turns in, I have to give him at least a 50% on his assignment. They've also told me I have to go back and change all student grades from quarter one to at least a 50%.
     While I have heard positives for this. Every student that fails my class has deserved it.  I hold make up days, they can retake any test, turn in late assignments, and I'm in my class before school, after school, and even during lunch.
     I'm apparently supposed to have less than 15% of students fail my class. I work in an inner city school, and while I have a ton if great kids, I have my fair share of shit-heads.  Kids I've seen three or four times, kids that when I ask are they going to work today just blatantly tell me no, kids who come to class high and can barely keep their eyes open... I could go on and on. Telling me to have less than 15% is basically telling me to just pass kids, even if they aren't ready.
     This, ladies and gentlemen, is why Nevada is last in education. No one cares about the students. It's all a numbers game. Everything that was wonderful about our old principal is being flushed down the drain by the new one. He makes teachers feel inadequite, unwelcome, and unappreciated.
     While I understand giving kids a fair shot. Just giving them a free 50% isn't teaching them anything.  I wonder if I just did 10% of all that's expected of me, I would get at least 50% of my paycheck.

Saturday, November 22, 2014

So, I've said it before but f$@!# teaching is hard

     So much to say and yet so little time.  I finally figured out this is an app, so that's an amazing upgrade in my ability to blog.  While I'm am technically not a first year teacher, I still feel like one.  
     Every year seems different.  This is officially my third year.  This is also the first year I've felt like f#!!!# teaching.  My administration sucks, my kids suck, my department sucks, & my school district sucks. I understand why teachers quit.  Honestly,  it's the environment.  I can take the pay,  the kids that don't care,  the parents that don't care,  but it's when everyone in the state (or so it feels like) doesn't care... it's a s#!+ show.
     *sigh* I'm just venting.  It will get better,  or so I hope.  It's also that time of year. Not the happy Christmas, holiday season shiz, it's this thing (which when I found out about it,  it did legitimately make me feel better) that teachers, maybe everyone,  go through. It's the few weeks before winter break (can I just call it Christmas break already?) Where a teacher and student are totally just done.
     I hope this is what's happening because I see problems with the new generation.... I don't know how to explain it other than they don't feel a need to remember anything or to even work towards anything.  Perhaps,  it is I turning into the old woman who can't understand the youth. All I know is by the time I entered 11th grade, I knew the parts of speech,  how to spell basic words, and how to bs my way through an essay. Hopefully this doubt passes and I can love what I do again.

P.S. I keep saying it, but I really want to keep this up. I may only be speaking to myself but it helps.